Top Ten Tuesday – Set in New Orleans

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.33.46 AM

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish!

This week we are to choose the top ten books in “x” setting (i.e. top ten books set near the beach, top ten book set in boarding school, top ten books set in England, etc)

I’m choosing top ten books set in New Orleans! Because… well why not?


Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.03.56 PM.png

I think we can all agree that Anne Rice started the Vampires in New Orleans craze so she certainly deserves to top the list.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Dark Hunters series by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.06.59 PM

I really like the earlier books in this series, and they all take place (more or less) in New Orleans. This might be one of the first series I ever read that is set in New Orleans, actually. Every time I read them it always made me hungry for beignets. Yumm!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Veil and The Sight by Chloe Neill

^Links go to my reviews of these two books^

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.11.11 PM.png

I just read these books last month and thought the New Orleans setting was really interesting. Its an alternate future New Orleans which is altered due to a supernatural war that took place there. The descriptions of New Orleans life is pretty rich and one of the best parts of the books

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 8.49.11 PM

The Night Huntress series flits in and out of New Orleans a couple times throughout the course of the series. I cannot currently remember which exact books occur in New Orleans but I know its a few. I wouldn’t say its a major plot point or anything, but it does happen for interesting reasons!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Kresley Coles’ Immortals after dark

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.18.34 PM

Many of Kresley Cole’s Immortals books take place in New Orleans. Its a really fun idea to imagine all kinds of supernatural communities residing there in secret. Valkyries, Lykae, Witches, Vampires, Whatever Loa is, Nymphs, Demons, etc.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Deeper than Midnight by Lara Adrian

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.20.23 PM.png

Deeper than Midnight is one of my favorites from Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series, and part of the book takes place in New Orleans.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Sookie Stackhouse (originally The Southern Vampire Mysteries) by Charlaine Harris.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 8.36.54 PM

This series takes place in Louisiana, and a couple books take place in New Orleans. If you haven’t read these books I recommend you do. If you’ve only watched True Blood, I highly recommend you do not judge the books on the show as they are not remotely alike. The show did not follow the books at all, especially after the first season. The first 7ish books are really good and then it goes down hill a bit.


Well I’m gonna call it quits there since a couple of mine are for whole series rather than single books. That counts as more than 10, in my book lol!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Set in New Orleans

  1. Love Charlaine Harris and Jeaniene Frost! I went to New Orleans when I was quite young, but reading about some of the food in the Charlaine Harris books makes me want to go back and try out some of the cuisine. Great list, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hah – great choice of place and I love your first book. The first book that popped into my head – was Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil – but I’m not sure though now whether it was New Orleans! Maybe it was just the deep South.
    Anyway, great choice of topic.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

