Top 5 Wednesday – Changed Feelings

t5wfamily1.png

Top 5 Wednesday time! This is a weekly book meme – the Goodreads group lives here – and this week’s topic is:

August 3rd: Books You Feel Differently About
— Talk about the books that you feel differently about after you’ve had time to think about them or re-read them. These are books that you gave a low rating, and then thought about it or re-read it and ended up loving. Or a book that you loved when you first read it, but after you’ve thought about it or you’ve gotten older, you see how many problems it had.


Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark Series (select titles)

A Hunger like No Other, Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, Macrieve

I absolutely adore Kresley Cole’s PNR series, Immortals After Dark. She is a great writer, who has created a unique world and characters, and each book is infused with humor, action, and love/lust. But, when I re-read the series, I realized that there are a couple of titles in the series I really, really dislike. Kresley tends a bit too much towards the “alpha male” in my opinion, but three of her books (the lykae books) really go too far. The men in these three books, in particular, go far past “alpha male” and well into physical and sexual abuse, and it’s difficult for me to read. The worst part is that the female characters are utterly innocent and undeserving of these actions. I really cannot see why these three women even “fall in love” with the men after the way they are treated. For instance, in books like Rydstrom and Sabines, and even Thornos and Lanthe’s, you can see why the men act the way they do (it can be argued that the women mistreated them first and vengeance is understandable, even if its unpleasant). In books like Lothaire, well you accept his actions because he actually is supposed to be a villain, so its not really surprising or offensive. Shadows Claim is actually my favorite, because the Dacian actually treats Bettina well, and courts her. But these 3 books go too far, and I actually can’t believe I ever got into the series, considering the way Hunger Like No Other starts it off. Good thing I persevered past that one!

 

Sherrlilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter Series

Dark Hunter series

So I started reading this series years ago and I loved it. I remember voraciously tearing through all of the books (I think there were 13 out then) and I liked each one. They are full of mythology, action, and tortured heroes. Some of the women are pretty badass, which I liked. But then, as the series continued past the long-awaited Acheron book, I started to get bored with the series. It seems that the author is only interested in having tortured heroes, and each book she tries to outdo herself in how awful and tortured each heroes’ past is. By the time you get to Acheron, half the book is very detailed imaginings of torture, rape, imprisonment, and more. Later, when you get to Styxx’ book, its even worse.  Recently the books have gotten even more off track and strange. One of the books has the male and female character’s consciousness swap bodies and then they have sex. Its very weird, because they are basically having sex with their own bodies. I don’t even know how to describe it, but I stopped reading after that book. I don’t buy her books anymore :(. Hopefully some day she’ll get back on track or try a new series or something. This series went stale long ago, around book 14.

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Sorcerer’s Stone

I cannot believe this, but the first time I tried to read this book, I HATED it. I think I was around 10 years old and I was a voracious reader. My aunt heard about this book and bought it for me, but I could never get past the first chapter (The Boy who Lived). If you remember, this chapter details Vernon Dursley’s day, starting with waking up, following him at work, and later going to sleep. I thought it was hopelessly dull and never got much past the first 2 or 3 pages. Then, after months of it sitting around my house, I heard they were making it into a movie so I forced myself to try reading it again. When I finally got past the first couple of pages I, of course, fell in love with the book and rushed to read the next 3 (Goblet of Fire had just came out). The rest, as they say, is history!

Katie Macalister’s Dark Ones and Dragons series

Dark Ones, Dragons

I read these books years and years ago. Katie Macalister is one of the first romance authors I started reading as a teen. Her books are sizzling and full of a LOT of humor and shenanigans. In the past few years I’ve refused to re-read them because I’m afraid if I do, I won’t like them anymore. I have really great memories of these books, but nowadays I prefer my books to be on the darker side (like J.R. Ward, Anne Bishop, etc) so I’m afraid these books will read too silly. I’d rather keep my fond memories than risk a re-read changing how I feel about them lol!

Daughters of the Moon

Daughters of the Moon

This was one of my most favorite young adult series when I was a tween, I absolutely adored these books. They are full of greek mythology and forbidden love (so even as a young teen, I guess I’ve always had a “type” lol). A couple months ago I decided to try re-reading them for the first time in well over a decade. This was a mistake. Upon re-reading the first 3 books, I cannot believe I used to like these. They are not especially well-written and a lot of what happens doesn’t even make sense. Its also about 15 year olds who apparently go to raves and nightclubs almost every night. Re-reading these totally ruined them for me, now I’m second guessing my taste-level as a young-un lol! Now I’m afraid to re-read other books and series from my youth, I don’t want to find out they were never any good!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Changed Feelings

Leave a Reply

