Top Ten Tuesday – I’d buy if I could..

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.33.46 AM

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish!
This week’s topic is: Top Ten books I’d buy right now if handed a fully loaded gift card

Ok I’m going to have to tweak this a bit because I buy every book that I want to, money isn’t really an obstacle to my reading (HEY! I don’t drink, or smoke, or buy too many clothes, and you have to have at least ONE bad habit, right? RIGHT? Right!

Since I buy most books in ebook format (hey, I said I buy them all, not that I could afford to buy hardcovers!), this topic for me will be Hardcovers I would buy if money was no object. Either because the covers are so beautiful, or because I love the books so very much.


The Starbound Trilogy (New Adult)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 6.48.49 PM

These pictures don’t really do the book covers justice, but I think this might be one of the most beautiful cover art I’ve ever seen on a book series. I own them in ebook (and love them!) but they are on my “to buy in hardback” list, for sure. These are sci-fi space opera romances (marketed as YA but they are pretty mature for YA, I’d class them as New Adult).

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Illuminea Chronicles (New Adult)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 6.52.24 PM

Illuminae was my favorite read of 2015, hands down. Utterly unique and well-crafted, I’ve never read anything quite like it before or since. I received it as an e-arc though, and apparently a lot of the final art and details within were not included in the e-arc so I missed some things from the story. I’ll definitely be picking up the hardcover version for a re-read before the sequel comes out in October!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Winners Trilogy (YA)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.03.21 PM.png

Again, I just think these covers are sublime and would look pretty in hardcover on my shelves. I have cover art lust here. Bought in ebook but regretting that a bit, should have went hardcover!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Lord of the Fading Lands series (Adult High-Fantasy-Romance)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.06.12 PM

Not so much because of the covers this time (they are fine but nothing to gush over), this is just one of my all time favorite High-Fantasy series and I’d love to have it in hardback on my shelves. For my ogling pleasure.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The White Rabbit Chronicles (Adulty- YA)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.08.59 PM.png

Again I own these in ebook but I think the covers are divine and I’d love to have the hardcovers on my shelves. These are YA but written by an author who writes steamy adult romances. Her YA books are quite a bit steamier than most YA books, in my opinion. Really, really funny too. And pretty covers!!!!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Night Prince (Adult Paranormal Romance)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.21.25 PM

So this one is not because of the covers. I actually think they are a bit hokey. But I adore this series (fourth and final one comes out in february) and I’d like to have it on my shelves. I mean, they are about Vlad (yep, the Impaler) finding love. And he’s not a nice, sweet Vlad. No, he’s a pretty vicious, impaler-ey Vlad. People get all kinds of impaled during the course of this series. Thats what she said! hahahaha. But in all seriousness, if you haven’t read Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress and Night Prince series yet, what are you even doing with your life?

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Hunger Games

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.26.30 PM

GASP! I know, I know! How can I NOT own these in physical copy? Because, obviously I am a loser! I own these in ebook but I’m really going to have to buy these in hardcover for my shelves. Its kind of sinful not to have them proudly displayed near the classics and harry potter. I’m sorry, I’ll try to do better, I swear!

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Sevenwaters series

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.31.05 PM

One of my all time favorite (though heart-wrenching) romantic fantasy series, The Sevenwater series surely deserves to live on my selves in hardcover. My goodness can Juliet Marillier write a story! If you haven’t tried any of her books yet I highly, HIGHLY, recommend that you do. She is a top-notch story teller who effortless weaves history, magic, romance, and beautifully real characters into every story she writes. I’ve never been disappointed with Marillier book.

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

The Elemental Mysteries (Adult Paranormal Suspense w slowburn Romance)

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 7.39.21 PM.png

Sigh, I just love Elizabeth Hunter’s books. All of them, really. But since Elemental Mysteries got me started on her as an author, I’d sure love to own this series in hardcover for my shelves. Unfortunately she only publishes in ebook and paperback (so far) so it is not meant to be. I’ll keep buying the ebooks for now! Oh, she is an indie, self-published author with impeccable editing in her books. I would never have guessed she is self-puiblished based on the stories which are expertly crafted, fantastically well researched, and complexly fashioned.

 Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 11.19.48 AM

Ok that will do for now, I’ll keep dreaming about getting to fill my shelves up, because hardcovers are just too expensive to buy….sigh!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – I’d buy if I could..

  1. All of these sound like great series, and I haven’t read any of them (except HG)! You’ve completely convinced me that I should add them all to my TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep indulging your habit! And, can we really call BOOK BUYING a BAD habit?? I’d argue “no.” In fact, you can even say you’re cultivating an important and healthy habit with buying and reading so often :). That’s my justification…or, rationale of the whole thing. And I’m with you! Yay for buying books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

