Top 5 Wednesday – Unlikeable Characters

t5wfamily1.png

Top 5 Wednesday time! This is a weekly book meme – the Goodreads group lives here – and this week’s topic is:

Most Unlikable Characters
— NOT VILLAINS! These are protagonists or side characters that are unlikable! (These should lean more towards characters who aren’t intentionally unlikeable. Not villains, or mean girl/guys, etc.


I’m going to only do YA characters here because I’m having trouble choosing characters from my adult books right now. There are simply too many of them. Since I’ve read far less YA books, its easier for me to choose among those characters…

Unlikeable YA Characters

Edward Cullen from Twilight – Ugh, I just will never get the attraction to Edward Cullen. He is a whiny, brooding, arrogant, condescending and controlling jerk. I don’t get the appeal, I really don’t. I would have chosen Jacob any day of the week.

America Singer from The Selection series – Grr. Makes me so mad, I really think she needs to be slapped. The entire series is literally this…

  • America sees the prince and thinks, “Oh I love him, he’s the one for me, there can be no other!”
  • Two seconds later America sees Aspen and thinks “Oh, its him I love, my one true love, and no other can compare!”
  • Six and a half seconds later and America sees the prince again and thinks “Be still my heart, I could love no one more than he!”

and et cetera, et cetera, et cetera. I think yo-yos get less back and forth than America. That series drove me crazy. And really, we all KNEW she was going to choose the damn prince because the series is obviously the author’s venue for playing out the “cinderella fantasy trope.” Lame.  I’m so sick of authors using love triangles as a lame device for heightening tension and drama. A truly talented author can keep that tension going even in a committed, long-term relationship. For an example, see Jeaniene Frost’s adult Night Huntress series.

Gale from Hunger Games – Do I even need to explain? Is there anyone on here who actually liked or rooted for Gale? I mean, seriously, the girl has just survived a literal hell in which she was forced to kill other children to save her own life, and Gale still thinks now is an appropriate time to pressure her about a relationship with him? A relationship, I might add, that she was never interested in, to begin with. How about being the friend she desperately needs, huh Gale? How about that? Ugh, Gale is such a giant baby. KAtniss and Peeta have a wee bit on their minds (the survival of them, their families, their district, and the fate of the country if it erupts into war) and Gale is crying about how Katniss only kisses him when she feels bad for him. Well Gale, maybe that is a good indicator that she doesn’t want a relationship with you, hmm? UGHGHGHGHGHGHGHG!

Ok, rant over.

Dorian from Throne of Glass – Oh I realize that I am probably a minority here because I know a lot of people are big, big fans of Dorian. Now that I think of it, it seems I just do not have a prince fetish, as princes in these YA stories keep kind of annoying me. Anyway, I could not stand Dorian from the beginning. He is arrogant (like Edward Cullen) and broody and whiney (like Gale), so just not my cup of tea. So for the first 3 books, Dorian is a big nuisance for me. I have to say, though, that in the last book he started to show promise as an interesting character.

Bella from Twilight – Ok I couldn’t really think of a 5th one so I decided to just go with Bella, thought its really almost too easy to choose her. What a punching bag she is throughout the story. So willing, nay EAGER, to sacrifice herself for literally everyone else. Even when her sacrifice is completely unnecessary, in every way. I consider Bella (and twilight) to be the single worst YA book for teaching young girls about healthy actions and relationships. I would be really concerned if I had a teenage girl who read this series, because everything Bella does, says, and stands for is kind of terrifying. I would not want young girls to emulate her. Don’t get me wrong, I actually like the books. I just think she is a horrible role model for young girls. Doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy the stories.

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Unlikeable Characters

Leave a Reply

