Diversity Test Book Tag

I actually saw this book tag and wanted to test myself by seeing if I could come up with an answer for each prompt. Diversity can be tough to find in our books, and, as a librarian, it’s something I try to stay cognizant of. I’d love it if you linked to me if you do the tag!

So here goes….


A book starring a lesbian character…

Well I’m already failing with the first question! I cannot think of a single book I’ve read in which the main character was a lesbian. I’ve read books that have had lesbian characters, but none that I would consider the star, or lead of the story. I need to branch out in the books I’m reading!

A book with a Muslim protagonist…

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 8.58.40 PM.pngI recently read a YA Graphic Novel called Ms. Marvel: No Normal, which was fantastic! Its about a teenage Muslim-American who gains the superpowers of Ms. Marvel. She deals with the stresses of sudden super heroism along with the more normal challenges of a teenage girl struggling to determine how her family obligations and expectations can fit with her personal goals and choices. It’s fantastic and includes a lot of insight into the family life of a Muslim-American family.

 

A book set in Latin America…

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.03.12 PMOk, does this count? Kresley Cole’s Pleasure of a Dark Prince is set in Latin America because it takes place in the Amazon Rainforest. But I don’t know if it counts because the two main characters of this paranormal romance are both described as looking physically like white european-types. But the setting is definitely in Latin America, so it kind of counts.

 

 

A Book about a person with a disability…

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.09.24 PMOnce again I’m failing this test as I cannot think of any books I’ve read that were about a person with a disability, where the disability was a major plot point. I’ve certainly read books that have included persons with disabilities such as injured limbs or blindness, but for the most part they are paranormal or fantasy type books where magic plays a part, so they don’t usually deal with the normal “real-life” aspects of the disability. The closest thing I’m coming up with is Kresley Cole’s Dark Desires After Dark, which features a female lead who lives with severe Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

 

A Science-Fiction or Fantasy book with a Person of Color (POC) protagonist…

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.22.31 PMThis one I have a lot for but I’d have to say the number one author for this in my list is the wonderfully talented Nalini Singh. Her Psy-Changeling series features very few purely caucasian protagonists. Most of her characters are a wonderful mix of heritages and skin colors. It is one of my favorite things about this series! Her Guild Hunter series does the same, although the original and main couple are both described as caucasian, main characters in following books range heritage. Nalini is a wonderful sci-fi and fantasy author.

Patricia Briggs feutres a lot of Native American Indian protagonists in both her Mercy Thompson, and Alpha & Omega series.

Lara Adrian (Ashes of Midnight, Taken by Midnight), Gena Showalter (The Darkest Secret, Wicked Nights), and J.R. Ward (The Shadows) also have a couple books in their series featuring persons of color.

A Book written by an Indigenous or Native author.

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.24.10 PMSherman Alexie’s YA best-seller The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is a must read for everyone. Alexie himself grew up on a Spokane Indian Reservation and writes and speaks often about his experiences and the experiences of American Indians often. He is a fantastic author and advocate.

 

 

A book set in South Asia 

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.28.58 PM.png

Honestly I’m having a smidge of trouble  remembering for sure, but I’m pretty sure Nalini Singh’s Archangel’s Storm is set in India. I remember really vivid descriptions of the outfits the main character wore and I’m 80% positive it was in India and was traditional Indian ceremonial dress. I always remember this book as being set in India, but Amazon is cataloging it as “Australia and Oceania,” which is throwing me off. The author is from Australia though so I think that’s why its being categorized as such.

 

A Book with a multi-racial protagonist…

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.33.41 PM.png

Gena Showalter’s Wicked Nights features a multi-racial protagonist in the form of Annabelle, who is half Japanese and half Caucasian. More are coming to mind as well but I pretty much already referenced them above.

 

 

 

A book with a transgender character or transgender issues

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 9.37.47 PM

Brian KAtcher’s Almost Perfect is the only book I’ve read that features a transgender main character. It’s YA, and I wouldn’t necessarily consider it a great example of LGBTQ literature. The story is told largely front the point of view of a straight (?) teenage boy who has conflicting feelings for a transgender girl and so a lot of the book is filled with hateful and fearful thoughts about transgender people. It was still an interesting read, however.

 


I’d love to learn about some diverse books you are all reading and I hope you’ll feel inspired to try the Diversity Book Test Tag and link back to me if you do!

 

And I shall tag the following wonderful bloggers (please feel no pressure if tags are not your thing!) To keep it ordered in my head I’m nominating the most recent 10 people to graciously follow my blog!

Nicole @ The Anatomy of Books

Caitlin @ Words and Other Beasts 

Lekeisha @ Lekeisha the Booknerd

Melissa @ Booknerdmomo

Birdie Bookworm

Caitlin @ Shelfie!

Candace @ Literary Dust

Darcy’s Book Blog

 

4 thoughts on “Diversity Test Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #8

  2. Pingback: The Diversity Test Book Tag

Leave a Reply

